Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Search form

Wonderland Book Club

Wonderland meets the last Friday of each month from 10 a.m. until noon. Wonderland Book Club is OPEN to the public and is an outreach effort of the NC Writers' Network for Raleigh and Wake County.

Upcoming

  • January 29: Kathryn Schwille, What Luck This Life
  • February 26: David Menconi, Step It Up and Go
  • March 26: Timothy Reinhardt, Jesus’s Brother James
  • April 30: Lena Epps Booker, Hot Dogs on the Road
  • May 28: Rebecca Hodge, Wildland
  • June 25: Dori Ann Dupre, Good Buddy
  • July 30: Lenard D. Moore, The Geography of Jazz
  • August 27: Bob O’Connell, Cruise Mobs
  • September 24: Tracie Barton-Barrett, Finding Her Spirit
  • October 29: Bernie Brown, I Never Told You
  • November 19: John Steinbeck, The Grapes of Wrath
  • December 10: P.D. McClafferty, The Traps of Heaven
What Luck, This Life Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781938235429
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Hub City Press - September 18th, 2018

The Columbia space shuttle and its contents rain down on the people of Kiser, Texas, in Kathryn Schwille's imaginative debut novel set six weeks before the invasion of Iraq.


Step It Up and Go: The Story of North Carolina Popular Music, from Blind Boy Fuller and Doc Watson to Nina Simone and Superchunk Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781469659350
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: University of North Carolina Press - October 19th, 2020

This book is a love letter to the many artists, scenes, and sounds that define North Carolina's extraordinary contributions to American popular music. David Menconi has spent three decades immersed in the state's music culture, where tradition runs deep but the energy has expanded in countless directions.


Jesus's Brother James Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781684019663
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Mascot Books - March 5th, 2019

"Life can be challenging and overwhelming. After finding his wife in bed with another man, Mike meets the mysterious Father Coady, who promptly shoots him in the head (accidentally). When Mike wakes up in the hospital, he's introduced to Jesus's little-known brother, James, who is a poor stand-in for the Divine.


Staff Pick Badge
Wildland: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781643852928
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Crooked Lane Books - February 11th, 2020

For fans of Jodi Picoult and Anita Shreve comes an exhilarating debut novel of one woman's courage in the face of catastrophe.

She'll do anything to save them.
But what will she do to save herself?


Good Buddy: a novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781543966657
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: BookBaby - June 11th, 2019

What really makes a father? What kind of love resides in the heart of a man who takes on the raising of another man's child and all the responsibilities…but under the law, none of the rights? Jonathan "Buddy" Cordova is a small-time criminal defense lawyer living paycheck to paycheck and practicing law out of his house in Fayetteville.


The Geography of Jazz Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781949467307
Availability: Available from warehouse in 1-5 business days
Published: Blair - September 1st, 2020

A poetry collection by internationally acclaimed poet Lenard D. Moore focusing on jazz music as an experience and an inspiration.


Cruise Mob Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780692295533
Availability: Available from warehouse in 1-5 business days
Published: Green Chicken Press - November 3rd, 2014

Coedy Romance Mystery and a Midnight Buffet The Pastor family from Flash Mob is back for another adventure. When Grandpa, Tomasso "The Wolf" Pastor, retired fixer for a major New Jersey organized crime syndicate, decides to take a cruise with a former associate you can expect rough seas. A sudden change of plans result in his grandson Elmo being on board as well.


I Never Told You Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781945181696
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Moonshine Cove Publishing, LLC - October 1st, 2019

THEY ARE BEST FRIENDS AS MUCH AS MOTHER AND DAUGHTER. EACH HAS A SECRET THAT COULD DESTROY THAT BOND.

Small-town dress shop owner Anna's daughter Katya leaves home for art school in September 1965. After that, nothing in their loving and devoted relationship is ever quite the same.


The Grapes of Wrath: (Centennial Edition) Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780142000663
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Penguin Books - January 8th, 2002

The Pulitzer Prize-winning epic of the Great Depression, a book that galvanized—and sometimes outraged—millions of readers.


The Traps of Heaven Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781645449195
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Page Publishing, Inc. - August 26th, 2019

On the cusp of the twenty-third century, mankind stands on a razor's edge, caught between doom and oblivion with the invisible alien invader on one hand and the benevolent artificial intelligence on the other. One will cost humans their unique individuality, the other will cost humanity its soul, if not its very life. It's up to Ellie Abhartach to decide which.