Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Search form

Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Club

The Science Fiction and Fantasy book club meets the fourth Thursday of the month at 7 pm. It is moderated by Amber, our assistant general manager.  We read both adult and young adult science fiction and fantasy novels, with a focus on diverse characters and authors, as well as award winners. Any and all readers are welcome (over age 15 please). We are currently meeting on Zoom, and you can get more information on Meetup or email Amber to join the monthly newsletter! 

Upcoming

  • April 22: Tooth & Claw by Jo Walton
  • May 27: How Rory Thorne Destroyed the Multiverse by K. Eason
  • June 24: Dreadnought by April Daniels
  • July 22: Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • August 26: Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler
  • September 23: The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow
  • October 28: Hollow Kingdom by Kira Jane Buxton
  • November 18 (in partnership with Forever Young): Cinderella is Dead by Kalynn Bayron
Tooth and Claw Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250242723
Availability: On our shelves
Published: Tor Books - November 12th, 2019

Now in a new pocket-sized hardcover edition, the World Fantasy Award-winning tale of contention over love and money—among dragons.

Tooth and Claw

Jo Walton burst onto the fantasy scene with The King's Peace, acclaimed by writers as diverse as Poul Anderson, Robin Hobb, and Ken MacLeod. In 2002, she was voted the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.


How Rory Thorne Destroyed the Multiverse Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780756417499
Availability: On our shelves
Published: DAW - August 25th, 2020

First in a duology that reimagines fairy tale tropes within a space opera—The Princess Bride meets Princess Leia.
 


Dreadnought (Nemesis #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781682300688
Availability: On our shelves
Published: Diversion Books - January 24th, 2017

An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick.

"I didn't know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now."--Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky


Gods of Jade and Shadow Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525620778
Availability: On our shelves
Published: Del Rey - February 18th, 2020

The Mayan god of death sends a young woman on a harrowing, life-changing journey in this dark, one-of-a-kind fairy tale inspired by Mexican folklore.


Parable of the Sower: A Novel Cover Image
By Octavia E. Butler, Gloria Steinem (Introduction by)
$24.00
ISBN: 9781609807191
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Seven Stories Press - February 28th, 2017

Parable of the Sower is the Butlerian odyssey of one woman who is twice as feeling in a world that has become doubly dehumanized. The time is 2025. The place is California, where small walled communities must protect themselves from hordes of desperate scavengers and roaming bands of people addicted to a drug that activates an orgasmic desire to burn, rape, and murder.


Staff Pick Badge
The Ten Thousand Doors of January Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316421973
Availability: On our shelves
Published: Redhook - May 12th, 2020

"A gorgeous, aching love letter to stories, storytellers and the doors they lead us through...absolutely enchanting."--Christina Henry, bestselling author of Alice and Lost Boys

LOS ANGELES TIMES BESTSELLER!
Finalist for the 2020 Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and World Fantasy Awards


Staff Pick Badge
Hollow Kingdom Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538745830
Availability: On our shelves
Published: Grand Central Publishing - July 7th, 2020

A finalist for the 2020 Thurber Prize for American Humor!

"The Secret Life of Pets meets The Walking Dead" in this big-hearted, boundlessly beautiful romp through the Apocalypse, where a foul-mouthed crow is humanity's only chance to survive Seattle's zombie problem (Karen Joy Fowler, PEN/Faulkner Award-winning author).

S.T., a do


Pre-Order Now Badge
Cinderella Is Dead Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781547606641
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Bloomsbury YA - June 29th, 2021

"Wholly original and captivating." - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that's perfect for fans of Dhonielle Clayton and Melissa Albert.