Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Club

One of our newest book clubs meets the fourth Thursday of the month at 7 pm. The Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Club is moderated by our own Amber, Receiving manager.  We will read both adult and young adult science fiction and fantasy novels, with a focus on award winners, diverse characters and authors, and strong female and male protagonists. Any and all readers are welcome (over age 15 please).

February 21 - On the 3rd Thursday rather than 4th, this is a combined meeting with the Forever Young: YA For Adults Book Club to discuss The Reader by Traci Chee.

March 28 – The Power by Naomi Alderman    

April 25 - The Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan    

May 23 - Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

June 27 - This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

 

 

The Reader Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147518057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - September 5th, 2017

An instant New York Times Bestseller, this is a stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of. Perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Finalist for the Kirkus Prize and nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award!


The Power Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316547604
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - January 8th, 2019

What would happen if women suddenly possessed a fierce new power?

"The Power is our era's The Handmaid's Tale." --Ron Charles, Washington Post

*WINNER OF THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION*


A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent (The Lady Trent Memoirs #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780765375070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - February 4th, 2014

Marie Brennan begins a thrilling new fantasy series in A Natural History of Dragons, combining adventure with the inquisitive spirit of the Victorian Age.


Annihilation: A Novel (The Southern Reach Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9780374104092
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: FSG Originals - February 4th, 2014

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE

The Southern Reach Trilogy begins with this Nebula Award-winning novel that "reads as if Verne or Wellsian adventurers exploring a mysterious island had warped through into a Kafkaesque nightmare world" (Kim Stanley Robinson).


This Mortal Coil Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781481496346
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - September 25th, 2018

“Redefines ‘unputdownable.’” —Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling author of Iluminae
“I was thrilled.