Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Club

The Science Fiction and Fantasy book club meets the fourth Thursday of the month at 7 pm. It is moderated by Amber, our receiving manager.  We will read both adult and young adult science fiction and fantasy novels, with a focus on award winners, diverse characters and authors, and strong female and male protagonists. Any and all readers are welcome (over age 15 please).

July 25: The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood

August 22: All Those Explosions Were Someone Else's Fault by James Alan Gardner

September 26: The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu

October 24: The Bear & the Nightingale by Katherine Arden 

November 21: Isle of Blood and Stone by Makiia Lucier (w/ Forever Young)

December: No meeting

Staff Pick Badge
The Handmaid's Tale: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780385490818
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Anchor - March 16th, 1998

#1 New York Times bestseller • Includes an introduction by Margaret Atwood.
 
An instant classic and eerily prescient cultural phenomenon, from “the patron saint of feminist dystopian fiction” (New York Times). Now an award-winning Hulu series starring Elizabeth Moss.
 


All Those Explosions Were Someone Else's Fault: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765392633
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Tor Books - November 7th, 2017

Monsters are real.
But so are heroes.

Sparks are champions of weird science. Boasting capes and costumes and amazing super-powers that only make sense if you don’t think about them too hard, they fight an eternal battle for truth and justice . . . mostly.


The Three-Body Problem (Remembrance of Earth's Past #1) Cover Image
By Cixin Liu, Ken Liu (Translated by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780765382030
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Tor Books - January 12th, 2016

"Wildly imaginative, really interesting." —President Barack Obama on The Three-Body Problem trilogy

The Three-Body Problem is the first chance for English-speaking readers to experience the Hugo Award-winning phenomenon from China's most beloved science fiction author, Liu Cixin.


The Bear and the Nightingale: A Novel (Winternight Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101885956
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Del Rey - June 27th, 2017

Katherine Arden’s bestselling debut novel spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice.
 
“A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up.”—Naomi Novik, bestselling author of Uprooted


Isle of Blood and Stone (Tower of Winds) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544968578
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - April 10th, 2018

Eighteen years ago, two princes vanished. Now a riddle hidden on a mysterious map could chart a course towards the truth and the missing royals in this historical fantasy that's perfect for fans of Rachel Hartman and Tamora Pierce.

Eighteen years ago two princes of the island kingdom of St.