Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Recent Staff Picks

Our staff reads and recommends a diverse world of books. Here are some of our recent favorites.

For children's and teen picks, click here

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Beekeeper of Aleppo: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984821218
Availability: Coming soon - PREORDER NOW!
Published: Ballantine Books - August 27th, 2019

This unforgettable novel puts human faces on the Syrian war with the immigrant story of a beekeeper, his wife, and the triumph of spirit when the world becomes unrecognizable.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Hollow Kingdom Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781538745823
Availability: Coming soon - PREORDER NOW!
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 6th, 2019

One pet crow fights to save humanity from an apocalypse in this uniquely hilarious debut from a genre-bending literary author.

S.T., a domesticated crow, is a bird of simple pleasures: hanging out with his owner Big Jim, trading insults with Seattle's wild crows (those idiots), and enjoying the finest food humankind has to offer: Cheetos ®.


Staff Pick Badge
Silver in the Wood Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250229793
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Tor.com - June 18th, 2019

"A true story of the woods, of the fae, and of the heart. Deep and green and wonderful.”—New York Times bestselling author Naomi Novik


Staff Pick Badge
Bunny: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525559733
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Viking - June 11th, 2019

"A wild, audacious and ultimately unforgettable novel." Michael Schaub, Los Angeles Times 

"Every time I open it up, I stumble upon a crackling sentence." Dwight Garner, The New York Times

"Awad is a stone-cold genius." —Ann Bauer, The Washington Post


Staff Pick Badge
One Giant Leap: The Impossible Mission That Flew Us to the Moon Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781501106293
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 11th, 2019

The remarkable story of the trailblazers and the ordinary Americans on the front lines of the epic mission to reach the moon.

President John F. Kennedy astonished the world on May 25, 1961, when he announced to Congress that the United States should land a man on the Moon by 1970.


Staff Pick Badge
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525562023
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Penguin Press - June 4th, 2019

Named one of the most anticipated books of 2019 by Vulture, Entertainment Weekly, Buzzfeed, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Oprah.com, Huffington Post, The A.V. Club, Nylon, The Week, The Rumpus, The Millions, The Guardian, Publishers Weekly, and more.


Staff Pick Badge
Red, White & Royal Blue: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250316776
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 14th, 2019

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER that is a *MUST-READ BOOK* for US WEEKLY, VOGUE, NPR, ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY, OPRAHMAG.COM, and more!

What happens when America's First Son falls in love with the Prince of Wales?


Staff Pick Badge
Orange World and Other Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525656135
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Knopf - May 14th, 2019

From the Pulitzer Finalist and universally beloved author of the New York Times best sellers Swamplandia! and Vampires in the Lemon Grove, a stunning new collection of short fiction that showcases Karen Russell’s extraordinary, irresistible gifts of language and imagination.
 


Staff Pick Badge
Out East: Memoir of a Montauk Summer Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781538746653
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 14th, 2019

An Entertainment Weekly Best Book of May 2019
A TIME Magazine Best Book of May 2019
A Cosmopolitan Best Book of May 2019
An Oprah Magazine Best LGBTQ Book of 2019


Staff Pick Badge
Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101947869
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Knopf - May 7th, 2019

New York Times Best Seller
 
“Compelling . . . at once a true-crime thriller, courtroom drama, and miniature biography of Harper Lee. If To Kill a Mockingbird was one of your favorite books growing up, you should add Furious Hours to your reading list today.” —Southern Living
 


Staff Pick Badge
The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062862822
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Ecco - May 7th, 2019

From Calabria to Connecticut: a sweeping family saga about sisterhood, secrets, Italian immigration, the American dream, and one woman's tenacious fight against her own fate


Staff Pick Badge
Normal People: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984822178
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Hogarth - April 16th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE • “A stunning novel about the transformative power of relationships” (People) from Sally Rooney, the author of Conversations with Friends and “a master of the literary page-turner” (J. Courtney Sullivan).
 


Staff Pick Badge
Wounds: Six Stories from the Border of Hell Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781534449923
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - April 9th, 2019

“[Ballingrud's] evocative and strangely beautiful.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Nathan Ballingrud is one of my favorite contemporary authors and any time he’s got a new book out I run to the front of the line.


Staff Pick Badge
All That You Leave Behind: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399179716
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Ballantine Books - April 9th, 2019

“A documentary filmmaker and daughter of the late, great New York Times columnist David Carr celebrates and wrestles with her father’s legacy in a raw, redemptive memoir.”O: The Oprah Magazine (The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out in 2019)


Staff Pick Badge
Women Talking Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781635572582
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - April 2nd, 2019

National Bestseller


Staff Pick Badge
Lights All Night Long: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525558736
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Penguin Press - April 2nd, 2019

A gripping and deftly plotted narrative of family and belonging, Lights All Night Long is a dazzling debut novel from an acclaimed young writer

"A luminous debut. . . . It's hard not to read the book in a single sitting."--The Los Angeles Times


Staff Pick Badge
Maybe You Should Talk to Someone: A Therapist, HER Therapist, and Our Lives Revealed Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781328662057
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - April 2nd, 2019

Now being developed as a television series with Eva Longoria and ABC!

"Rarely have I read a book that challenged me to see myself in an entirely new light, and was at the same time laugh-out-loud funny and utterly absorbing."—Katie Couric
 
“This is a daring, delightful, and transformative book.”—Arian


Staff Pick Badge
Outer Order, Inner Calm: Declutter and Organize to Make More Room for Happiness Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984822802
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Harmony - March 5th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In this lovely, easy-to-use illustrated guide to decluttering, the beloved author of The Happiness Project shows us how to take control of our stuff—and, by extension, our lives.
 


Staff Pick Badge
The Distance Home: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525508762
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - April 2nd, 2019

“[Paula] Saunders skillfully illuminates how time heals certain wounds while deepening others. . . . A mediation of the violence of American ambition.”—The New York Times Book Review

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY REAL SIMPLE


Staff Pick Badge
The Word for Woman Is Wilderness Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781937512798
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Two Dollar Radio - March 19th, 2019

THE OFFICIAL NORTH AMERICAN EDITION


Staff Pick Badge
The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781335937803
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Hanover Square Press - March 5th, 2019

The Los Angeles Times BestsellerA Tor.com Most Anticipated Book of 2019A PureWow "Book We Can't Wait to Read in 2019"A Bustle Nonfiction Book Coming Out In 2019 To Start Getting Excited AboutThe Lady from the Black Lagoon


Staff Pick Badge
Daisy Jones & The Six: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524798628
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Ballantine Books - March 5th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A gripping novel about the whirlwind rise of an iconic 1970s rock group and their beautiful lead singer, revealing the mystery behind their infamous breakup.


Staff Pick Badge
The Priory of the Orange Tree Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781635570298
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - February 26th, 2019

The New York Times bestselling "epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of Game of Thrones" (Bustle).

A world divided.
A queendom without an heir.
An ancient enemy awakens.


Staff Pick Badge
The Electric State Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781501181412
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Skybound Books - September 25th, 2018

NPR Best Books of 2018

A teen girl and her robot embark on a cross-country mission in this illustrated science fiction story, perfect for fans of Ready Player One and Black Mirror.