Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Staff Picks Booklist

Select a book to read our staff reviews.

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Adventurer's Son: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062876607
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: William Morrow - February 18th, 2020

“A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out.”—Jon Krakauer


Staff Pick Badge
The Seep Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781641290869
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Soho Press - January 21st, 2020

 “A unique alien invasion story that focuses on the human and the myriad ways we see and don’t see our own world. Mesmerizing.” 
—Jeff VanderMeer

A blend of searing social commentary and speculative fiction, Chana Porter’s fresh, pointed debut explores a strange new world in the wake of a benign alien invasion.

 


Staff Pick Badge
Wildland: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781643852928
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Crooked Lane Books - February 11th, 2020

For fans of Jodi Picoult and Anita Shreve comes an exhilarating debut novel of one woman's courage in the face of catastrophe.

She'll do anything to save them.
But what will she do to save herself?


Staff Pick Badge
Tyll: A Novel Cover Image
By Daniel Kehlmann, Ross Benjamin (Translated by)
$26.95
ISBN: 9781524747466
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Pantheon - February 11th, 2020

From the internationally best-selling author of You Should Have Left, Measuring the World, and F, a transfixing retelling of the German myth of Tyll Ulenspiegel: a story about the devastation of war and a beguiling artist’s decision never to die
 


Staff Pick Badge
Show Them a Good Time Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781635574296
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - January 28th, 2020

"Show Them a Good Time is a master class in the short story-bold, irreverent and agonizingly funny." Sally Rooney, Author of Normal People and Conversations with Friends

Named A Most Anticipated Novel of 2020 by


Staff Pick Badge
Weather: A novel Cover Image
$23.95
ISBN: 9780385351102
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Knopf - February 11th, 2020

From the author of the nationwide best seller Dept. of Speculation--one of the New York Times Book Review's Ten Best Books of the Year--a hilarious and shimmering tour de force about a family, and a nation, in crisis


Staff Pick Badge
Three Californias: The Wild Shore, The Gold Coast, and Pacific Edge Cover Image
By Kim Stanley Robinson, Francis Spufford (Introduction by)
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250307569
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Tor Books - February 4th, 2020

FROM THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF RED MARS AND NEW YORK 2140


Staff Pick Badge
Nothing to See Here Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062913463
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Ecco - October 29th, 2019

A New York Times Bestseller  •  A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick!


Staff Pick Badge
Wilmington's Lie: The Murderous Coup of 1898 and the Rise of White Supremacy Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780802128386
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - January 7th, 2020

From Pulitzer Prize-winner David Zucchino comes a searing account of the Wilmington riot and coup of 1898, an extraordinary event unknown to most Americans


Staff Pick Badge
Threads of Life: A History of the World Through the Eye of a Needle Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781419739538
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - October 15th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
These Marvelous Beasts: The Complete Frost & Filigree Series Cover Image
$34.99
ISBN: 9781645540243
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Falstaff Books, LLC - January 30th, 2020

After centuries of adventures, arguments, and unrequited love, Nerissa Waldemar, a lamia, finds herself retiring to Tarrytown, New York with the very object of her affection, the deadly and beautiful sylph, Vivienne du Lac. She's hoping for some time alone to share her dark hearts' innermost thoughts; but of course, even lamia's plans often fall astray.


Staff Pick Badge
The Snow Child: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316175661
Availability: Available from warehouse in 1-5 business days
Published: Back Bay Books - November 6th, 2012

In this magical debut, a couple's lives are changed forever by the arrival of a little girl, wild and secretive, on their snowy doorstep.


Staff Pick Badge
Follow Me to Ground: A Novel Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781982133634
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Scribner - January 21st, 2020

Palm Beach Post, BuzzFeed, and LitHub’s Most Anticipated of 2020

A haunted, surreal debut novel about an otherworldly young woman, her father, and her lover that culminates in a shocking moment of betrayal—one that upends our understanding of power, predation, and agency.


Staff Pick Badge
Picnic in Provence: A Memoir with Recipes Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316246170
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Back Bay Books - June 7th, 2016

The bestselling author of Lunch in Paris takes us on another delicious journey, this time to the heart of Provence.


Staff Pick Badge
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781492671527
Availability: Available from warehouse in 1-5 business days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - May 7th, 2019

The New York Times and USA Today bestseller


Staff Pick Badge
American Dirt (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250209764
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Flatiron Books - January 21st, 2020

#1 New York Times Bestseller
OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB PICK

Extraordinary.”
Stephen King


Staff Pick Badge
Naked Came the Florida Man: A Novel (Serge Storms #23) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062796004
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: William Morrow - January 7th, 2020

"Can it still be hurricane season? Must be, because here come Serge A. Storms and his perpetually stoned bro, Coleman, in Tim Dorsey’s gonzo crime caper.” –New York Times Book Review


Staff Pick Badge
Dig Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101994917
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

Winner of the Michael L. Printz Medal


Staff Pick Badge
The Clergyman's Wife: A Pride & Prejudice Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062942913
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - December 3rd, 2019

For everyone who loved Pride and Prejudice—and legions of historical fiction lovers—an inspired debut novel set in Austen’s world.


Staff Pick Badge
A Wild and Precious Life: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250195135
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 8th, 2019

A lively, intimate memoir from a marriage equality icon of the gay rights movement, describing gay life in the 1950s and 60s New York City and her longtime activism.

"Brash, funny and brave." —NPR

“A captivating and inspiring story of a queer woman who believed in her right to take up space and be seen.”—BuzzFeed


Staff Pick Badge
Big Lies in a Small Town: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250087331
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 14th, 2020

From New York Times bestselling author Diane Chamberlain comes an irresistible new novel in Big Lies in a Small Town.


Staff Pick Badge
Dear Edward: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984854780
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: The Dial Press - January 6th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • #ReadWithJenna Book Club Pick as Featured on Today • A “dazzling” novel that “will break your heart and put it back together again” (J. Courtney Sullivan, bestselling author of Saints for All Occasions) about a young boy who must learn to go on after surviving tragedy
 


Staff Pick Badge
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780765399311
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Tor.com - January 7th, 2020

The fifth installment in New York Times bestselling author Seanan McGuire's award-winning Wayward Children series, Come Tumbling Down picks up the threads left dangling by Every Heart a Doorway and Down Among the Sticks and Bones


Staff Pick Badge
Long Bright River: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525540670
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Riverhead Books - January 7th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK


"[Moore’s] careful balance of the hard-bitten with the heartfelt is what elevates Long Bright River from entertaining page-turner to a book that makes you want to call someone you love.” – The New York Times Book Review
 


Staff Pick Badge
The Toll (Arc of a Scythe #3) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481497060
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 5th, 2019

In the highly anticipated finale to the New York Times bestselling trilogy, dictators, prophets, and tensions rise. In a world that’s conquered death, will humanity finally be torn asunder by the immortal beings it created?

Citra and Rowan have disappeared. Endura is gone.


Staff Pick Badge
In the Dream House: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781644450031
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Graywolf Press - November 5th, 2019

A revolutionary memoir about domestic abuse by the award-winning author of Her Body and Other Parties


Staff Pick Badge
Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374162559
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - October 15th, 2019

Girl, Edna O’Brien’s hotly anticipated new novel, envisages the lives of the Boko Haram girls in a masterpiece of violence and tenderness.

I was a girl once, but not anymore.


Staff Pick Badge
Sissy: A Coming-of-Gender Story Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735218826
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - March 5th, 2019

THE NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Transformative ... If Tobia aspires to the ranks of comic memoirists like David Sedaris and Mindy Kaling, Sissy succeeds." --The New York Times Book Review

A heart-wrenching, eye-opening, and giggle-inducing memoir about what it's like to grow up not sure if you're (a) a boy, (b) a girl, (c) something in between, or (d) all of the above.


Staff Pick Badge
The Girl Who Reads on the Métro: A Novel Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781250315427
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Flatiron Books - October 8th, 2019

“With a cast of characters reminiscent of the French film Amélie, Féret-Fleury creates a world that is delightful and enchanting…Light and sweet as a bonbon, this little confection of a book is delicious.” —Kirkus Reviews


The never-before-told true account of the design and development of the first desktop computer by the world's most famous high-styled typewriter company, more than a decade before the arrival of the Osborne 1, the Apple 1, the first Intel microprocessor, and IBM's PC5150.


Staff Pick Badge
The Deep Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534439863
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - November 5th, 2019

ONE OF NPR’S BEST BOOKS OF 2019

The water-breathing descendants of African slave women tossed overboard have built their own underwater society—and must reclaim the memories of their past to shape their future in this brilliantly imaginative novella inspired by the Hugo Award–nominated song “The Deep” from Daveed Diggs’s rap group clipping<