Kids & Teens Events

Yes, you can find information on all our events on our store calendar.  But we want to make sure our younger patrons (and their parents) don't miss out on something special.  Here, you'll find a list of events especially geared to kids of all ages. Events are updated frequently, so check back often!

Upcoming Events

Monday, September 24, 7:00PM - JAMES PONTI - 'Trapped!'

Florian Bates—the only kid on the FBI Director’s speed dial and several international criminals’ most wanted lists—must save his friend from being framed for a crime he didn’t commit in this hilarious third novel in the Framed! series. Middle school is hard. Solving cases for the FBI is even harder. Doing both at the same time, well that’s just crazy. But that doesn’t stop Florian Bates! Along with his best friend, and Watson to his Sherlock, Margaret, Florian’s making the case that kids can do anything.

Wednesday, September 26, 7:00pm - BETH REVIS - 'Give the Dark My Love'

This latest YA novel from North Carolina author, Beth Revis, explores just how far a young alchemist is willing to go to find a cure to save her family from a deadly plague. Our author will be in conversation with Kati Gardner, author of Brave Enough.

Saturday, September 29, 10:30am - MATTHEW CORDELL - 'King Alice' (Signing Line Event)

The 2018 Caldecott Winner will join us in a special Saturday storytime to celebrate the release of KING ALICE, with a special presentation to follow! Matthew Cordell is the Caldecott award-winning author of Wolf in the Snow, Trouble Gum, Another Brother, hello! hello!, and Wish. He has illustrated the books of renowned authors including Philip Stead (Special Delivery), Rachel Vail (the Justin Case series), and Gail Carson Levine (Forgive Me, I Meant To Do It). 

Friday, October 5, 7:00pm - ALLY CONDIE - 'The Darkdeep'

In the icy waters of Still Cove, four friends discover a secret island hidden in the mist. On the island, something ancient has awakened. It knows their wishes, dreams, and darkest secrets. Do they have what it takes to face the shadowy things lurking within their own hearts? Perfect for fans of Stranger Things! We recommend this book for ages 8+

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 18, 7PM - CRESSIDA COWELL - THE WIZARDS OF ONCE: TWICE MAGIC
We are thrilled to host the best-selling author of the How to Train Your Dragon series, Cressida Cowell. Stunning artwork and a heartfelt adventure create the perfect combination in this spellbinding sequel to The Wizards of Once, Twice Magic. Xar and Wish, the boy Wizard and girl Warrior, once again put aside their differences and brave dangerous territory to stop an evil spell. We recommend this book for ages 9+.

Sunday, October 28, 2:00pm - AUTHOR/EDITOR PANEL - 'We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices'

 The Hudson's will be joined by contributors KELLY STARLING LYONS, CAROLE BOSTON WEATHERFORD, CHERYL HUDSON, TAMEKA FRYER BROWN, JEFFERY WEATHERFORD, ELEANORA E. TATE, with WADE HUDSON moderating a panel discussion "Using Words and Images to Enlighten, Inspire, and Motivate."

Wednesday, November 7, 7:00pm - L.M. ELLIOTT - 'Hamilton and Peggy!'

Drawing from historical journals and letters, New York Times bestselling author Laura Elliot weaves a richly detailed tale about the extraordinary Peggy Schuyler and her revolutionary friendship with Alexander Hamilton. Perfect for fans of the smash Broadway musical sensation Hamilton!

Thursday, December 6, 7:00pm - CASSANDRA CLARE - 'The Queen of Air and Darkness'

What if damnation is the price of true love? Innocent blood has been spilled on the steps of the Council Hall, the sacred stronghold of the Shadowhunters. In the wake of the tragic death of Livia Blackthorn, the Clave teeters on the brink of civil war. One fragment of the Blackthorn family flees to Los Angeles, seeking to discover the source of the disease that is destroying the race of warlocks. Meanwhile, Julian and Emma take desperate measures to put their forbidden love aside and undertake a perilous mission to Faerie to retrieve the Black Volume of the Dead. What they find in the Courts is a secret that may tear the Shadow World asunder and open a dark path into a future they could never have imagined.