Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Search form

Featured Adult Nonfiction Preorders

Most upcoming books are available for pre-order; our offerings are not limited to the books listed below.

If you add a book to your cart while ordering online, please indicate if you only want it if it is signed, or only want it if it is a first edition.

Pre-Order Now Badge
World Travel: An Irreverent Guide Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780062802798
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Ecco - April 20th, 2021

A guide to some of the world’s most fascinating places, as seen and experienced by writer, television host, and relentlessly curious traveler Anthony Bourdain


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Bomber Mafia: A Dream, a Temptation, and the Longest Night of the Second World War Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316296618
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Little, Brown and Company - April 27th, 2021

An exploration of how technology and best intentions collide in the heat of war

In The Bomber Mafia, Malcolm Gladwell weaves together the stories of a Dutch genius and his homemade computer, a band of brothers in central Alabama, a British psychopath, and pyromaniacal chemists at Harvard to examine one of the greatest moral challenges in modern American history.
&#


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Premonition: A Pandemic Story Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780393881554
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 4th, 2021

For those who could read between the lines, the censored news out of China was terrifying. But the president insisted there was nothing to worry about.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Secret to Superhuman Strength Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780544387652
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - May 4th, 2021

From the author of Fun Home, a profoundly affecting graphic memoir of Bechdel's lifelong love affair with exercise, set against a hilarious chronicle of fitness fads in our times

Comics and cultural superstar Alison Bechdel delivers a deeply layered story of her fascination, from childhood to adulthood, with every fitness craze


Pre-Order Now Badge
Brat: An '80s Story Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538754276
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 11th, 2021

Fans of Patti Smith's Just Kids and Rob Lowe's StoriesI Only Tell My Friends will love this beautifully written, entertaining, and emotionally honest memoir by an actor, director, and author who found his start as an 80s Brat pack member.
 Most people know Andrew McCarthy from his movie roles in Pretty in Pink, St.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Facing the Mountain: A True Story of Japanese American Heroes in World War II Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780525557401
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Viking - May 11th, 2021

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Boys in the Boat, a gripping World War II saga of patriotism, highlighting the contributions and sacrifices that Japanese immigrants and their American-born children made for the sake of the nation the courageous Japanese-American Army unit that overcame brutal odds in Europe; their families, incarcerated back h


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Anthropocene Reviewed (Signed Edition): Essays on a Human-Centered Planet Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525555216
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Dutton - May 18th, 2021

A deeply moving and insightful collection of personal essays from #1 bestselling author John Green.

This is a signed edition.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Noise: A Flaw in Human Judgment Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780316451406
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Little, Brown Spark - May 18th, 2021

From the Nobel Prize-winning author of Thinking, Fast and Slow, coauthor of Nudge, and author of You Are About to Make a Terrible Mistake!, Noise is a revolutionary exploration of why people make bad judgments, "full of novel insights, rigorous evidence, engaging writing, and practical applications” (Adam Grant).


Pre-Order Now Badge
Freedom Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781982153410
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 18th, 2021

A profound rumination on the concept of freedom from the New York Times bestselling author of Tribe.

Throughout history, humans have been driven by the quest for two cherished ideals: community and freedom. The two don’t coexist easily. We value individuality and self-reliance, yet are utterly dependent on community for our most basic needs.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Man I Knew: The Amazing Story of George H. W. Bush's Post-Presidency Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781538735305
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Twelve - June 1st, 2021

A heartfelt portrait of President George H.W.


Pre-Order Now Badge
How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning with the History of Slavery Across America Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780316492935
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Little, Brown and Company - June 1st, 2021

"We need this book." Ibram X.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Nice Racism: How Progressive White People Perpetuate Racial Harm Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780807074121
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Beacon Press - June 29th, 2021

Building on the groundwork laid in the New York Times bestseller White Fragility, Robin DiAngelo explores how a culture of niceness inadvertently promotes racism.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Reckoning: Our Nation's Trauma and Finding a Way to Heal Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250278456
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: St. Martin's Press - July 20th, 2021

From the #1 bestselling author of Too Much and Never Enough: A diagnosis of America's national trauma, and a way to heal.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Goldenrod: Poems Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781982185060
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Atria/One Signal Publishers - July 27th, 2021

From the award-winning poet and bestselling author of Keep Moving and Good Bones, a stunning poetry collection that celebrates the beauty and messiness of life.

With her breakout bestseller Keep Moving, Maggie Smith captured the nation with her “meditations on kindness and hope” (NPR).


Pre-Order Now Badge
Hero of Two Worlds: The Marquis de Lafayette in the Age of Revolution Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781541730335
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: PublicAffairs - August 24th, 2021

From the massively popular podcaster and New York Times bestselling author comes the story of the Marquis de Lafayette's lifelong quest to protect the principles of democracy, told through the lens of the three revolutions he participated in: the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Revolution of 1830.


Pre-Order Now Badge
On Freedom: Four Songs of Care and Constraint Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781644450628
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Graywolf Press - September 7th, 2021

An expansive, exhilarating work of criticism by one of the most significant writers of our day


Pre-Order Now Badge
Vanderbilt: The Rise and Fall of an American Dynasty Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780062964618
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Harper - September 21st, 2021

CNN anchor and New York Times bestselling author Anderson Cooper teams with New York Times bestselling historian and novelist Katherine Howe to chronicle the rise and fall of a legendary American dynasty—his mother’s family, the Vanderbilts.

Few names are as synonymous with wealth and glamour as “Vanderbilt.”


Pre-Order Now Badge
South to America: A Journey Below the Mason Dixon to Understand the Soul of a Nation Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062977403
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Ecco - October 26th, 2021

An essential journey through the American South—and the way it defines American identity—from one our most extraordinary writers on race and culture at work today  

We all think we know the South.


Pre-Order Now Badge
A Carnival of Snackery: Diaries (2003-2020) Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780316558792
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Little, Brown and Company - October 5th, 2021

Picking up where his previous volume of diaries, Theft by Finding, left off, David Sedaris chronicles the years 2003–2020.
 


Pre-Order Now Badge
An Abolitionist's Handbook: 12 Steps to Changing Yourself and the World Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250272973
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 5th, 2021

In AN ABOLITIONIST’S HANDBOOK, Cullors charts a framework for how everyday activists can effectively fight for an abolitionist present and future.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Pioneer Woman Cooks—Super Easy!: 120 Shortcut Recipes for Dinners, Desserts, and More Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780062962768
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: William Morrow Cookbooks - October 19th, 2021

Fall in love with cooking again with classic family-friendly recipes made quick and easy from #1 New York Times bestselling author and Food Network favorite Ree Drummond, The Pioneer Woman.

With her family-friendly cooking and lifestyle brand ranging from a hit Food Network show to an eponymous magazine to a bestselling line of food and home products to restau


Pre-Order Now Badge
These Precious Days: Essays Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063092785
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
(PLEASE NOTE: This book cannot be returned!)
Published: Harper - November 23rd, 2021

The beloved New York Times bestselling author reflects on home, family, friendships and writing in this deeply personal collection of essays.  

“Any story that starts will also end.” As a writer, Ann Patchett knows what the outcome of her fiction will be. Life, however, often takes turns we do not see coming.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Entertaining Race: Performing Blackness in America Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250135971
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: St. Martin's Press - November 2nd, 2021

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tears We Cannot Stop

"Entertaining Race
is a splendid way to spend quality time reading one of the most remarkable thinkers in America today." —Speaker Nancy Pelosi


Pre-Order Now Badge
Termination Shock: A Novel Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780063028050
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: William Morrow - November 16th, 2021

The #1 New York Times bestselling author returns with a visionary technothriller about climate change.


Pre-Order Now Badge
How to Be Heard Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062845931
Availability: Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Harper - November 16th, 2021

Roxane Gay, the prominent novelist, New York Times bestselling author of Hunger and Bad Feminist, cultural critic, and columnist provides practical guidance for everyone who wants to use their voice to write powerful work to share with the world.