Teen Fiction Panel w/ Amber Smith, Amy Reed, and Brenda Rufener

Three young adult literature authors come together to discuss their powerful novels, each with a teenage girl main character, and their struggles with abuse, assault, and rape; a culture of misogyny and sexism; homelessness; and incarcerated parents. Fans of SpeakThirteen Reasons Why, and similar works should not miss this event!

NC author, Amber Smith, joins us with The Way I Used to Be and The Last to Let Go.

Another NC author, Amy Reed, is the author of The Nowhere Girls

And our third NC author and homeless youth advocate, Brenda Rufener presents her debut, Where I Live

We recommend this event for ages 13+. There will be discussion of serious topics. 

Event date: 
Friday, March 2, 2018 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
North Hills
4209-100 Lassiter Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
Where I Live Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062571090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - February 27th, 2018

Included on Bustle's list of the "27 Most Anticipated YA Contemporary Books Hitting Shelves in 2018"!

“Fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon will enjoy this realistic debut novel, which brings to light heavy topics of homelessness and abuse.” —School Library Journal


The Nowhere Girls Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481481731
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - October 10th, 2017

"A call-to-action to everyone out there who wants to fight back." --Bustle

"Subversive anti-sexism--just try to put it down." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


The Last to Let Go Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481480734
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - February 6th, 2018

A twisted tragedy leaves Brooke and her siblings on their own in this provocative new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used To Be.

How do you let go of something you've never had?


The Way I Used to Be Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781481449366
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - March 7th, 2017

A New York Times bestseller.

In the tradition of Speak, this extraordinary debut novel "is a poignant book that realistically looks at the lasting effects of trauma on love, relationships, and life" (School Library Journal, starred review).