Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Search form

Christopher Swann | A Fire in the Night (online)

In conversation with Shawn A. Cosby.

A book that's literary fiction, a spy novel, and a relentless thriller all in one.

Nick Anthony has retreated to the North Carolina mountains to mourn the untimely death of his wife. Once a popular professor, Nick just wants to be left alone with his grief. But when his estranged brother and sister-in-law die in a house fire, a stunned Nick learns he has a niece, Annalise, who is missing.

At the scene of the crime, the men who set the fire have realized Annalise, and the information they are looking for, got away. Feverish and exhausted, she stumbles onto her uncle's porch, throwing Nick into the middle of the mystery of her parents' death and the dangerous criminals hunting her down.

Hired to retrieve the stolen information at any price, private military contractor Cole and his team track Annalise to Nick's cabin. But Nick has a hidden past of his own--and more than a few deadly tricks up his sleeve.

Christopher Swann is a graduate of Woodberry Forest School in Virginia. He earned a B.A. in English from Washington and Lee University, an M.A. in English and creative writing from the University of Missouri-Columbia, and a Ph.D. in creative writing from Georgia State University. He is the author of Never Turn Back.  He lives with his wife and two sons in Atlanta, where he is the English department chair at Holy Innocents' Episcopal School.

Register on Eventbrite

Event date: 
Friday, September 17, 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Event address: 
North Hills
4209-100 Lassiter Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
A Fire in the Night: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781643857565
Availability: On our shelves
Published: Crooked Lane Books - September 7th, 2021

Acclaimed Southern mystery master Christopher Swann delivers "a book that's literary fiction, a spy novel, and a relentless thriller all in one" (Lee Goldberg, New York Times bestselling author), perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Michael Farris Smith.


Razorblade Tears: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250252708
Availability: On our shelves
Published: Flatiron Books - July 6th, 2021

*INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER*
“Provocative, violent — beautiful and moving, too.” —Washington Post

“Superb...Cuts right to the heart of the most important questions of our times.” —Michael Connelly

“A tour de force – poignant, action-packed, and profound.” —Milwaukee Journal Sentinel