Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Search form

Matthew Pearl | The Taking of Jemima Boone (online)

In conversation with Cate Lineberry

In his first work of narrative nonfiction, Matthew Pearl, bestselling author of acclaimed novel The Dante Club, explores the little-known true story of the kidnapping of legendary pioneer Daniel Boone's daughter and the dramatic aftermath that rippled across the nation. In this enthralling narrative in the tradition of Candice Millard and David Grann, Matthew Pearl unearths a forgotten and dramatic series of events from early in the Revolutionary War that opens a window into America's transition from colony to nation, with the heavy moral costs incurred amid shocking new alliances and betrayals.

"A deliciously intricate and utterly absorbing retelling of the Daniel Boone family saga—and particularly the complex roles played by the Cherokee and Shawnee across Boone's southern Appalachian stamping grounds. The Taking of Jemima Boone adds an intriguing dimension to an issue of keen importance to modern society." —Simon Winchester

Register on Eventbrite

Event date: 
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Event address: 
North Hills
4209-100 Lassiter Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
The Taking of Jemima Boone: Colonial Settlers, Tribal Nations, and the Kidnap That Shaped America Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062937780
Availability: On our shelves
Published: Harper - October 5th, 2021

“A rousing tale of frontier daring and ingenuity, better than legend on every front.” — Pulitzer Prize–winning author Stacy Schiff

A Goodreads Most Anticipated Book


Be Free or Die: The Amazing Story of Robert Smalls' Escape from Slavery to Union Hero Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250183897
Availability: On our shelves
Published: Picador - July 3rd, 2018

"A stunning tale of a little-known figure in history. Robert Smalls' astounding heroism during the Civil War helped convince Lincoln and the country that African Americans were extraordinarily capable of fighting for their freedom.