Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Panel Discussion on Effects of Social Media on Writing and Creativity

More and more writers are struggling with their work while simultaneously struggling with promoting their work on Facebook, Twitter and other social media platforms. Has the world tilted too far into social media as something required of creative people? What are the effects on a writer’s relationship to her work when overly involved in social media? Is social media the amazing marketing tool it’s billed to be, and at what cost to creativity?

Join Piedmont Laureate Nancy Peacock with writers Anna Jean Mayhew, Ralph Hardy, Michele Berger, Charles Fiore and Kim Church in a panel discussion on creativity and social media. 

Event date: 
Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
North Hills
4209-100 Lassiter Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
The Life and Times of Persimmon Wilson: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501116360
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Washington Square Press - December 19th, 2017

For fans of Cold Mountain and The Invention of Wings comes “a magnificent, immersive, breathtaking work of historical fiction” (Jennifer Chiaverini, New York Times bestselling author) that follows the epic journey of a slave-turned-Comanche warrior who travels from the brutality of a New Orleans sugar cane plantation to the indomitable frontier of untamed Texas, se


The Dry Grass of August Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780758254092
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: Kensington - April 2011

In this beautifully written debut, Anna Jean Mayhew offers a riveting depiction of Southern life in the throes of segregation, what it will mean for a young girl on her way to adulthood--and for the woman who means the world to her. . .


Argos: The Story of Odysseus as Told by His Loyal Dog Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062396792
Availability: On our shelves now
Published: HarperCollins - March 27th, 2018

Fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series will love this reimagining of Homer’s The Odyssey told from the point of view of Odysseus’s loyal dog, Argos.

Now available in paperback, this rousing story of devotion and determination is an original take on one of the most beloved myths of all time.


Byrd Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781938604522
Availability: Available from warehouse in 1-5 business days
Published: Dzanc Books - March 18th, 2014

"Brilliant writing--lively and heartbreaking at every turn."--Jill McCorkle, author of Life After Life


Reenu-You Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781942302483
Availability: Hard to find: allow 24 hours for information
Published: Book Smugglers Publishing - March 20th, 2017

New York City, August 1998. On a muggy summer day, five women wake up to discover purple scab-like lesions on their faces-a rash that pulses, oozes, and spreads in spiral patterns. City clinic doctors dismiss the women's fears as common dermatitis, a regular skin rash.