NORTH CAROLINA MIDDLE GRADE AUTHOR PANEL: Cindy Baldwin, Rebecca Petruck, and A.M. Morgen

We are excited to welcome three local middle grade authors for a fun panel. These three new books by North Carolina authors explore friendship and family, feature kids flying and eating flying bugs, and discover what in life is worth fighting for. This panel of middle grade novelists will be moderated by local young adult author, Brenda Rufener. We recommend these books for ages 8+.

Cindy Baldwin will present Where Watermelons Grow.

Rebecca Petruck will present Boy Bites Bug

A.M. Morgen will present The Inventors at No. 8.

Event date: 
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
North Hills
4209-100 Lassiter Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
Where the Watermelons Grow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062665867
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - July 3rd, 2018

Fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and A Snicker of Magic will be swept away by Cindy Baldwin’s debut middle grade about a girl coming to terms with her mother’s mental illness.


Boy Bites Bug Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781419721410
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - May 8th, 2018

Will didn't plan to eat a stinkbug. But when his friend Darryl called new kid Eloy Herrera a racial slur, Will did it as a diversion. Now Will is Bug Boy, and everyone is cracking up inventing insect meals for him, like French flies and maggot-aroni and fleas.


The Inventors at No. 8 Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316471497
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 8th, 2018

Brimming with mystery and treasure, this action-packed tale sends a boy in need of luck and girl in need of a friend on an adventure that will change their lives forever.


Where I Live Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062571090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - February 27th, 2018

Included on Bustle's list of the "27 Most Anticipated YA Contemporary Books Hitting Shelves in 2018"!

“Fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon will enjoy this realistic debut novel, which brings to light heavy topics of homelessness and abuse.” —School Library Journal