Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Search form

Maya Myers | Not Perfect (STORYTIME)

ABOUT THE EVENT

Maya Myers joins us for a special Saturday Morning Storytime! Books will be available for purchase at the reading. RSVP below. More information can be found about our Saturday, Sunday, and Monday Storytimes can be found here.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

From the creators of Not Little, the intrepid Dot is back with an endearing story about embracing the mistakes that let us build new skills.

Dot is good at a lot of things, but good isn’t perfect. Perfect is her sister’s blue-ribbon painting, or her brothers’ first-place tie in the spelling bee, or her mom’s black belt in tae kwon do. Dot tries and tries, but all she has to show for it is funny-looking cupcakes, off-key piano squeaks, and almost-goals in soccer. Nothing she does is perfect.

When Dot and her classmates get an assignment to make a poster about a person they admire, Dot has someone in mind right away: her best friend, Sam. But draft after draft comes out looking all wrong! How will she ever make the perfect poster for her perfect friend?

Fans of Dot and Sam and new readers alike will melt as Dot keeps on trying in this relatable companion to Not Little, featuring Maya Myers’s effortless narrative voice and Hyewon Yum’s irresistible illustrations.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

MAYA MYERS is an author, a freelance book editor, and a former elementary school teacher. Her debut picture book Not Little, also illustrated by Hyewon Yum, was an ALSC Notable Children's Book and a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection. She lives in Charlotte with her husband, author/illustrator Matt Myers, and three daughters.

 

 

Event date: 
Saturday, April 6, 2024 - 10:30am
Event address: 
North Hills
4209-100 Lassiter Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
Event Category: 

Free Media Mail shipping on U.S. orders over $75