Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Search form

Independent Bookstore Day Virtual Events

Friday, Aug. 28

7:30 PM: An Evening with Two Brilliant Friends

Join long-time friends, former New Yorker copy department colleagues, and literary icons in their own right, Mary Norris and Ann Goldstein, for an exclusive event in celebration of the forthcoming release of Elena Ferrante’s The Lying Life of Adults. Moderated by Michael Reynolds, Editor in Chief of Europa Editions.

Saturday, Aug. 29

1 PM: Goldfish GhostDrawing Class

A fun and interactive drawing demonstration with illustrator and author Lisa Brown (Goldfish Ghost, The Airport BookLong Story Short, The Phantom Twin)

1:30 PM: Graphic Novel Drawing Class

Graphic novel discussion and drawing class with Gene Luen Yang (Dragon Hoops).

2 PM: Middle Grade Fun

Middle-Grade Fun with Rene Watson (Ways to Make Sunshine) and illustrator Nina Mata (I Promise) with moderator Isaac Fitzgerald (How to Be a Pirate).

VIBD-MGfun-webbutton.png

3 PM: World-building in YA Feminist Fantasy Fiction

Join bestselling YA fantasy authors Kat Cho (Wicked Fox), Rena Barron (Kingdom of Souls), and Rebecca Kim Wells (Shatter the Sky). Moderator: Abby Rauscher of Books Are Magic!.

VIBD-FeministFantasy-webbutton.png

4 PM: You Have Arrived at Your Destination with Amor Towles

Explore the very near future with Amor Towles as he reads from the exclusive, SIGNED Bookstore Day edition of his story “You Have Arrived at Your Destination.

VIBD-AmorTowles-webbutton.png

5 PM: Writing the West

Join authors Reyna Grande (The Distance Between Us), Rishi Reddi (Passage West) and Lauren Francis-Sharma (Book of the Little Axe) as they discuss reexamining the history, culture, and myths of the West through their fiction.

VIBD-WritingWest-webbutton.png

6 PM: Alone Together: Stories of Love, Grief, and Comfort in the Time of COVID-19

Join co-hosts Jennifer Haupt, editor of Alone Together: Love, Grief, and Comfort in the Time of COVID-19, and Garth Stein, Author Leadership Circle Campaign Chair for Binc, for readings and conversations with Alone Together contributing authors Faith Adiele, Gayle Brandeis, W. Ralph Eubanks, Jamie Ford, Major Jackson, Sonora Jha, Scott James, Jessica Keener, Jean Kwok, Roberto Lovato, Ada Limón, Claudia Castro Luna, Kevin Sampsell, and Luis Alberto Urrea.

VIBD-AllTogether-webbutton.png

8 PM: Bookstore Day Ambassador Showcase

Join three of Bookstore Day’s past Author Ambassadors for a lively discussion of books, bookstores, and the writing life. Featuring Tayari Jones (An American Marriage and Silver Sparrow), Lauren Groff (Fates and Furies and Florida), and Emma Straub (All Adults Here, Modern Lovers, The Vacationeers and owner of Books Are Magic! in Brooklyn).

VIBD-Ambassadors-webbutton.png

Event date: 
Friday, August 28, 2020 - 4:30pm to Saturday, August 29, 2020 - 9:00pm
Event address: 
North Hills
4209-100 Lassiter Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
The Lying Life of Adults Cover Image
By Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein (Translator)
$26.00
ISBN: 9781609455910
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Europa Editions - September 1st, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES & NATIONAL BESTSELLER

A BEST BOOK OF 2020


Goldfish Ghost Cover Image
By Lemony Snicket, Lisa Brown (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626725072
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - May 2nd, 2017

Goldfish Ghost was born on the surface of the water in the bowl on a dresser in a boy’s room. The boy’s room was pleasant and familiar, but Goldfish Ghost wanted company, so he set out to find a friend.

He floats over the neighborhood, past the pier, and let the breeze carry him into town where he discovers that not many people pay attention to goldfish ghosts.


The Phantom Twin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626729247
Availability: On our shelves
Published: First Second - March 3rd, 2020

A young woman is haunted by the ghost of her conjoined twin, in Lisa Brown's The Phantom Twin, a sweetly spooky graphic novel set in a turn-of-the-century sideshow.

Isabel and Jane are the Extraordinary Peabody Sisters, conjoined twins in a traveling carnival freak show—until an ambitious surgeon tries to separate them and fails, causing Jane's death.


Dragon Hoops Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781626720794
Availability: On our shelves
Published: First Second - March 17th, 2020

In his latest graphic novel, Dragon Hoops, New York Times bestselling author Gene Luen Yang turns the spotlight on his life, his family, and the high school where he teaches.

Gene understands stories—comic book stories, in particular. Big action. Bigger thrills. And the hero always wins.


Ways to Make Sunshine (A Ryan Hart Story #1) Cover Image
By Renée Watson, Nina Mata (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547600564
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - April 28th, 2020

From Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winner Renée Watson, the first book in a young middle grade series about Ryan Hart, a girl who is pure spirit, kindness, and sunshine.


I Promise Cover Image
By LeBron James, Nina Mata (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062971067
Availability: On our shelves
Published: HarperCollins - August 11th, 2020

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller! An Instant Indie Bestseller! 

*An Amazon Best Book of the Year * A B&N Best Book of the Year*

A great gift for tiny go-getters and big dreamers, including for back to school!


How to Be a Pirate Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681197784
Availability: On our shelves
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - March 3rd, 2020

A National Bestseller!

"A beautiful, generous, fun collaboration of story and illustration and pirate tattoos. Seriously wise pirate advice for everyone." - Jon Scieszka, National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature


Wicked Fox Cover Image
By Kat Cho
$10.99
ISBN: 9781984812360
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Penguin Books - July 21st, 2020

An addictive fantasy-romance set in modern-day Seoul.

Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a nine-tailed fox who must devour the energy of men in order to survive. Because so few believe in the old tales anymore, and with so many evil men no one will miss, the modern city of Seoul is the perfect place to hide and hunt.


Kingdom of Souls Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062870964
Availability: On our shelves
Published: HarperTeen - August 11th, 2020

A girl with no gifts must bargain for the power to fight her own mother’s dark schemes—even if the price is her life.


Shatter the Sky (The Shatter the Sky Duology) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781534437913
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

New England Book Award Finalist

“A top-notch dragon story…Both nuanced and real.” —Shelf Awareness (starred review)
“I absolutely devoured it.” —Mackenzi Lee, bestselling author of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue
“Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Renée Ahdieh, and Cindy Pon.”


The Distance Between Us: A Memoir Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781451661781
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Washington Square Press - March 12th, 2013

In this inspirational and unflinchingly honest memoir, acclaimed author Reyna Grande describes her childhood torn between the United States and Mexico, and shines a light on the experiences, fears, and hopes of those who choose to make the harrowing journey across the border.

Reyna Grande vividly brings to life her tumultuous early years in this “compelling...unvarnished, reson


Passage West: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780060898793
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Ecco - April 21st, 2020

A Recommended Book from BookRiot, Bustle, The Millions and Teen Vogue


Book of the Little Axe Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802129369
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - May 12th, 2020

A BOOKLIST EDITOR'S CHOICE BOOK OF THE YEAR

Ambitious and masterfully-wrought, Lauren Francis-Sharma's Book of the Little Axe is an incredible journey, spanning decades and oceans from Trinidad to the American West during the tumultuous days of warring colonial powers and westward expansion.


Alone Together: Love, Grief, and Comfort in the Time of COVID-19 Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781771682282
Availability: On our shelves
Published: Central Avenue Publishing - September 1st, 2020

"Could there be a timelier gift to quarantined readers...? I doubt it."The Washington Post

"A heartening gathering of writers joining forces for community support."
Kirkus Reviews


An American Marriage (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616208684
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Algonquin Books - February 5th, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES AND WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK

A 2018 BEST OF THE YEAR SELECTION OF NPR  * TIME  * BUSTLE  * O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE  * THE DALLAS MORNING NEWS  * AMAZON.COM

OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB 2018 SELECTION

 
WINNER OF THE 2019 NAACP IMAGE AWARD FOR OUTSTANDI


Florida Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594634529
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 21st, 2019

The universally-acclaimed return of the New York Times bestselling author of Fates and Furies and Matrix.


All Adults Here: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594634697
Availability: Ships from warehouse to store in 1-5 business days
Published: Riverhead Books - May 4th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR

A PARADE BEST BOOK of 2020 * A GOOD HOUSEKEEPING BEST BOOK of 2020 

A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK!
"In a time when all we want is hope, it’s a beautiful book to reach for." -Jenna Bush Hager