Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Something Like Gravity (Hardcover)

Something Like Gravity Cover Image
$18.99
On our shelves now
1 on hand, as of Nov 20 9:02pm
(CHILD-TEEN FICTION)

Description


“As beautiful as it is breathtaking.” —BuzzFeed
“Will give you all the feels.” —Charlotte Magazine

For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor & Park, a “tender, beautifully told” (Julie Buxbaum, New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things) novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time—and how first love changes us all—from New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith.

Chris and Maia aren’t off to a great start.

A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters don’t fare much better. Chris’s good intentions backfire. Maia’s temper gets the best of her. But they’re neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just can’t seem to stay away from each other.

The path forward isn’t easy. Chris has come out as transgender, but he’s still processing a frightening assault he survived the year before. Maia is grieving the loss of her older sister and trying to find her place in the world without her. Falling in love was the last thing on either of their minds.

But would it be so bad if it happened anyway?

About the Author


Amber Smith is the New York Times bestselling author of the young adult novels The Way I Used to Be and The Last to Let Go. An advocate for increased awareness of gendered violence, as well as LGBTQ equality, she writes in the hope that her books can help to foster change and spark dialogue surrounding these issues. She grew up in Buffalo, New York, and now lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, with her partner and their ever-growing family of rescued dogs and cats. You can find her online at AmberSmithAuthor.com.

Praise For…


"Amber Smith’s Something Like Gravity is a tender, beautifully told story of first love and first loss and how finding the right person at the right time can be very thing that saves us. You will love Chris and Maia from the very first page of this gorgeous novel and will miss them long after you've finished."
— Julie Buxbaum, New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things

“A powerful and illuminating story about grief, identity and finding your true self. You will never forget Chris and Maia." 
— Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl In Pieces

"With Something Like Gravity, Amber Smith again shows the heart and empathy that makes her one of young adult’s foremost storytellers. This is a vital and beautiful book."
— Jeff Zentner, author of the William C. Morris Award winning and Carnegie Medal longlisted The Serpent King and Goodbye Days

"Personal trauma and mutual soul searching brings together a unique couple over the course of a single summer, as both are trying to find their place in the world following a life-changing experience.”
— HuffPost Queer Voices

“This story is as beautiful as it is breathtaking.”
— Buzzfeed

“[Amber Smith’s] third YA novel will give you all the feels.”
— Charlotte Magazine

“Delicious. Complicated. Painful. Enlightening.”
— Charlotte Observer

“A lovely story of first love, loss and identity. This is a wonderfully written book representing voices that are desperately needed in YA literature.”
— Ms. Magazine

 * "This bittersweet story of first love and identity tugs at the heartstrings in all the right ways." 
— VOYA, STARRED REVIEW

* “While sensitively tackling subjects of first love, acceptance and friendship, Smith expertly chronicles her characters’ twin journeys of grief and coming out, as well as what it takes to move on despite seemingly permanent damage.”
— BookPage, STARRED REVIEW

"A beautiful story of first romantic love, but also the love between friends and family. VERDICT Recommend this title to fans of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, Eleanor & Park, or The Sun Is Also a Star."
— School Library Journal

“A sensitive romance that values personal growth and inner truth.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Teens who need to find their place in a world they hope will accept and understand them will want to read this compelling novel.”
— Booklist

"This engaging love story effectively delves into the challenges of trust and honesty when both parties are experiencing huge transitions, and does not shy away from the consequences that can result when difficult truths become known."
— Horn Book


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534437180
ISBN-10: 1534437185
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: June 18th, 2019
Pages: 400