Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Search form

Echo of Worlds (The Pandominion #2) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Echo of Worlds (The Pandominion #2) By M. R. Carey Cover Image
$19.99
Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Pandominion series.

Description


From the author of the bestselling The Girl With All the Gifts comes the thrilling conclusion to the spectacular Pandominion duology, an exhilarating science fiction story perfect for fans of The Space Between Worlds, The Long Earth and Children of Time.

Two mighty empires are at war - and both will lose, with thousands of planets falling to the extinction event called the Scour. At least that's what the artificial intelligence known as Rupshe believes.
 
But somewhere in the multiverse there exists a force - the Mother Mass - that could end the war in an instant, and Rupshe has assembled a team to find it. Essien Nkanika, a soldier trying desperately to atone for past sins; the cat-woman Moon, a conscienceless killer; the digitally recorded mind of physicist Hadiz Tambuwal; Paz, an idealistic child and the renegade robot spy Dulcimer Coronal.

Their mission will take them from the hellish prison world of Tsakom to the poisoned remains of a post-apocalyptic Earth, and finally bring them face to face with the Mother Mass itself. But can they persuade it to end eons of neutrality and help them? And is it too late to make a difference?

Because the Pandominion's doomsday machines are about to be unleashed - and not even their builders know how to control them.

About the Author


M. R. Carey has been making up stories for most of his life. His novel The Girl With All the Gifts was a USA Today bestseller and is a major motion picture based on his BAFTA-nominated screenplay. Under the name Mike Carey he has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on X-Men and Fantastic Four, Marvel's flagship superhero titles. His creator-owned books regularly appear in the New York Times bestseller list. He also has several previous novels, two radio plays, and a number of TV and movie screenplays to his credit.

Praise For…


“An immense achievement, an impeccably crafted book without a single word out of place.”—The New York Times on Infinity Gate

"Big and bold... The writing is vivid, the pace is fast-moving."—Wall Street Journal on Infinity Gate

"[A] brilliant dimension-hopping sci-fi thriller... Readers will be wowed." —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) on Infinity Gate

"The plot doesn’t map onto a traditional hero’s journey arc and feels all the fresher for it. Short, action-packed chapters keep the pace brisk, and each character we meet, however briefly, is vividly and empathetically drawn. A genuine treat for SF fans: an epic multiverse tale that moves like a thriller."—Kirkus (Starred Review) on Infinity Gate

"Infinity Gate, with its in-depth science and rich characterization, is a must-read for sf fans."—Booklist (Starred Review) on Infinity Gate

"Infinity Gate is a powerful exploration of the near-future, skillfully and seamlessly weaving different realities and different iterations of AI. In other hands, this might be messy, but Carey has the experience, imagination and verve to pull it off. A must-read!”—Tade Thompson, author of Rosewater on Infinity Gate

"A master storyteller." —io9 on Infinity Gate

"A dazzling speculation on the many ways our world could have evolved, layered inside a thriller that will make your eardrums vibrate. M. R. Carey reveals the human (and non-human) cost extracted by the crumbling aspirations of a multiverse empire. I was charmed, disturbed, and fascinated by turns – and I couldn’t put this book down."

Annalee Newitz, author of Autonomous and The Terraformers on infinity Gate

“A fascinating window onto a dangerous and multifaceted universe.”—Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of Children of Time on Infinity Gate

“They say there’s nothing new under the sun. Well, M. R. Carey heard this and invented a whole new sun to put new things under. This is gripping, unrelenting, and absolutely unique. Top-notch science fiction, thrilling and thoughtful at the same time.”—Seanan McGuire, author of Every Heart a Doorway on Infinity Gate

“M. R. Carey reaffifirms his place in the ranks of SF with this startlingly good novel. Fans of Adrian Tchaikovsky will love it.”—Paul Cornell on Infinity Gate

"Carey writes with compassion and fire - strange and surprising and humane."
Lauren Beukes, author of The Shining Girls on The Boy on the Bridge

"M.R. Carey hefts astonishing storytelling power with plainspoken language, heartbreaking choices, and sincerity like an arrow to the heart." —Locus on The Book of Koli

"A thought-provoking and deeply engaging story ... profoundly and doggedly humane."—C. A. Fletcher on The Book of Koli

"Heartfelt, remorseless and painfully human...as fresh as it is terrifying. A jewel."—Joss Whedon on The Girl With All the Gifts


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316504690
ISBN-10: 0316504696
Publisher: Orbit
Publication Date: June 25th, 2024
Pages: 512
Language: English
Series: The Pandominion

Free Media Mail shipping on U.S. orders over $75