Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

Search form

Extasia (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Extasia Cover Image
$17.99
Coming soon - PRE-ORDER NOW!

Description


From New York Times bestselling author Claire LeGrand comes a new, bone-chilling YA horror novel about a girl who joins a coven to root out a vicious evil that’s stalking her village. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Grace Year.

Her name is unimportant.

All you must know is that today she will become one of the four saints of Haven. The elders will mark her and place the red hood on her head. With her sisters, she will stand against the evil power that lives beneath the black mountain—an evil which has already killed nine of her village’s men.

She will tell no one of the white-eyed beasts that follow her. Or the faceless gray women tall as houses. Or the girls she saw kissing in the elm grove.

Today she will be a saint of Haven. She will rid her family of her mother’s shame at last and save her people from destruction. She is not afraid. Are you?

This searing and lyrically written novel by the critically acclaimed author of Sawkill Girls beckons readers to follow its fierce heroine into a world filled with secrets and blood—where the truth is buried in lies and a devastating power waits, seething, for someone brave enough to use it.

About the Author


Claire Legrand is the author of Foxheart, The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, The Year of Shadows, and Some Kind of Happiness, as well as the New York Times-bestselling young adult fantasy Furyborn and its sequels. She is one of the four authors behind The Cabinet of Curiosities. Claire Legrand lives in New Jersey.

Praise For…


“Entertaining.” 
Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Sawkill Girls:  ★“Through this dank, atmospheric, and genuinely frightening narrative, Legrand weaves powerful threads about the dangerous journey of growing up female…an intensely character-driven story about girls who support each other, girls who betray each other, and girls who love each other in many complicated ways. Strange, eerie, and unforgettable.”
— ALA Booklist (starred review)

★“Legrand’s lush and pensive prose matches the murky, dangerous, and beautiful island setting.... Rich and earthy horror.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

★“This atmospheric, Gothic-flavored chiller, which mingles elements of dark fairy tales and outright horror... includes an asexual character and a beautifully wrought queer romance, [and] focuses on the power of female friendship and what it means to pit women against one another in fiction and in life.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

★”Cinematically, gorgeously creepy and horrific, sliding between breathlessly suspenseful and disturbingly grotesque.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

★”Legrand accomplishes the kind of slow-building tension and mounting horror that will give readers night terrors. Read this book, then lock it in the freezer.”
— Shelf Awareness

“Part spine-chilling horror story and part coming-of-age lesbian romance… If you are looking for something to scare you awake at night, this is the book for you.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Claire Legrand tells an eerie, feminist horror story that’s perfect for reading close to Halloween.”
— Bustle

“With prose as fierce and uncompromising as its three main characters, SAWKILL GIRLS is a fresh and unflinching exploration of female friendship wrapped in a spine-tingling page-turner. Claire Legrand doesn’t hold back--and you won’t be able to put this book down.”
— Courtney Summers, New York Times bestselling author of Sadie

“Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power.”
— Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062696632
ISBN-10: 0062696637
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: February 22nd, 2022
Pages: 496
Language: English