Home             My Account             Shopping Cart             Logout

ALA Youth Media Awards 2019

On January 28th the American Library Association (ALA) announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults for 2019 – including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards – at its Midwinter Meeting in Seattle, Washington.

The entire list of ALA winners and honorees can be found at ALA.org. If you are an educator of preschool through grade 12, QRB offers a 21% discount on books for classroom use (price list here). Browse and shop the major award winners below:

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature:

Merci Suárez Changes Gears by Meg Medina (Candlewick Press) is the 2019 Newbery Medal winner. Two Newbery Honor Books also were named: The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani (Dial Books for Young Readers) and The Book of Boy by Catherine Gilbert Murdock, illustrated by Ian Schoenher (Greenwillow Books)

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

Winner: Hello Lighthouse, illustrated and written by Sophie Blackall is the 2019 Caldecott Medal winner (Little, Brown and Company)

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:

Winner: A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919 by Claire Hartfield, is the King Author Book winner. (Clarion Books)

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award:

Winner: The Stuff of Stars illustrated by Ekua Holmes and written by Marion Dane Bauer (Candlewick Press)

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

Winner: The Poet X written by Elizabeth Acevedo (HarperTeen)

Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement:  Durham's Dr. Pauletta Brown Bracy has received this award. Dr. Bracy is Professor of Library Science and Director of the Office of University Accreditation at North Carolina Central University (NCCU). She recently served as co-organizer for Celebrating Our Voices: Black Children’s Literature Symposium and Book Festival held at NCCU.

Merci Suárez Changes Gears Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763690496
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 11th, 2018

Winner of the 2019 Newbery Medal

Thoughtful, strong-willed sixth-grader Merci Suarez navigates difficult changes with friends, family, and everyone in between in a resonant new novel from Meg Medina.


The Night Diary Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780735228511
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kokila - March 6th, 2018

A 2019 NEWBERY HONOR BOOK

"A gripping, nuanced story of the human cost of conflict appropriate for both children and adults."


The Book of Boy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062686206
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 6th, 2018

A Newbery Honor Book * Booklist Editors’ Choice * BookPage Best Books * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction * Horn Book Fanfare * Kirkus Reviews Best Books * Publishers Weekly Best Books * Wall Street Journal Best of the Year * An ALA Notable Book


Hello Lighthouse Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316362382
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 10th, 2018

Winner of the 2019 Caldecott Medal

A beloved picture book from two-time Caldecott Medal award-winner Sophie Blackall that transports readers to the seaside in timeless, nautical splendor!


A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919 Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780544785137
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - January 2nd, 2018

On a hot day in July 1919, five black youths went swimming in Lake Michigan, unintentionally floating close to the "white" beach. An angry white man began throwing stones at the boys, striking and killing one. Racial conflict on the beach erupted into days of urban violence that shook the city of Chicago to its foundations.


The Stuff of Stars Cover Image
By Marion Dane Bauer, Ekua Holmes (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763678838
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 4th, 2018

The 2019 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award Winner

In an astonishing unfurling of our universe, Newbery Honor winner Marion Dane Bauer and Caldecott Honor winner Ekua Holmes celebrate the birth of every child.


Staff Pick Logo
The Poet X Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062662804
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - March 6th, 2018

National Book Award and Golden Kite Honor Award Winner!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.