Events For Kids & Teens

Yes, you can find information on all our events on our store calendar.  But we want to make sure our younger patrons (and their parents) don't miss out on something special.  Here, you'll find a list of events especially geared to kids of all ages. And we expect more events to be added.

Upcoming Events

SATURDAY, JUNE 10, 2 pm - SARAH DESSEN
NC's Sarah Dessen returns on Saturday, June 10, at 2 pm with Once and for All. We fully expect this to join her long line of NYT bestsellers. “No one else does summer love like Dessen.” – Booklist review.  For ages 12+. Once and for All features her trademark humor and romance to perfection, as Louna's summer job as a wedding planner assistant throws her into the 'happily ever after' world she no longer believes in.   

Receive a ticket for the after-program signing line with the QRB purchase of Once and for All. We recommend pre-purchasing.

SATURDAY, JULY 15, 6:30 pm - SOUTHERN FANTASY PANEL (Children's & YA)
Fantasy is alive and well in the South.  We host a panel of regional fantasy authors, writing for children and YA audiences.  Join us on Saturday, July 15, at 6:30 pm for a look at their recent or upcoming releases. Aspiring writers, we bet there'll be a bit of shop talk and advice!  There are so many authors, see the event description on our calendar for a look at all their books!  Among the busy panelists (those with an * have new releases this year):

  • Amanda McCrina*
  • Shaila Patel*
  • Beth Bowland
  • Chris Ledbetter*
  • Leigh Statham*
  • Brynn Chapman
  • E.M. Fitch*
  • Julie Reece*
  • Scott Reintgen* (who'll be serving as host)

WEDNESDAY, JULY 26, 7 pm - ALAN GRATZ
Imagine leaving all you know with hardly a posession and risking your life in the hope of just surviving.  Now imagine it happening to a child.  NC author Alan Gratz shares Refugee with us on Wednesday, July 26 at 7 pm.  Across decades and continents, these interconnecting stories of three different children are sadly timely.  Ages 9+. Alan's books are a staple of the NC Battle of the Books' lists. Prisoner B-3087 is on the current middle school list. The Brooklyn Nine is a past entry. 

SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 16, 2 pm - MIKE LUPICA
Adults and kids are among his fans.  Award-winning sports writer and author Mike Lupica has enthralled all with his long-running column in the NY Daily News, his ESPN commentary, and his magazine articles. His sports-themed novels are gobbled up by younger readers. We're delighted to welcome him back on Saturday, September 16, at 2 pm with Lone Stars.  From the #1 bestselling author of Last Man Out, QB1, and Million-Dollar Throw comes a football story ripped from current sports headlines.  In the land where football is king, a player grapples with what's really important: giving his increasingly-impaired coach a winning season and a final honor in the spotlight. For ages 10+. 

SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 30, 2 pm - KELLY STARLING LYONS & VANESSA BRANTLEY-NEWTON (launch party)
 North Carolina is full of talent, and two of its brightest lights in children's books are on hand today.  Kelly Starling Lyons returns on Saturday, September 30, at 2 pm for the debut of her new series, Jada Jones.  Kelly inaugurates the series with the first two books: Jada Jones: Rock Star and Jada Jones: Class Act. Of course, there will be a launch party to celebrate. Jada is brought to life visually by renowned NC illustrator Vanessa Brantley-Newton, who also joins us. From the author of  Ellen's Broom, Tea Cakes for Tosh, and more and the illustrator of Early Sunday Morning, One Love, and others, it's the start of an engaging new protagonist in chapter books for ages 6+.  Join us for kids' activities, fun and refreshments at the launch of this series. May Jada have many adventures. 

Signing Line Ticket event: Receive a ticket for the after-program signing line with the QRB purchase of either Jada Jones book.  The earlier the book is purchased, the earlier the position in the signing line. 

MONDAY, OCTOBER 2, 7 pm - E. LOCKHART
 Her We Were Liars surprise twist (no spoilers here!) left readers talking.  Now E. Lockhart visits on Monday, October 2, at 7 pm with Genuine Fraud.  In her latest psychological thriller, a young woman schemes and reinvents herself to get what she wants.  How long can she succeed? Murder, shocks, romance and more await. Best-selling author of The Fault in Our Stars John Green said, "Thrilling, beautiful, and blisteringly smart, We Were Liars is utterly unforgettable."  We think a lot of that can apply to Genuine Fraud, too. Ages 12+.

Did you know "E. Lockhart" also writes for young children under her real name of Emily Jenkins?  No dark twists in her picture books like Toys Go Out, though.

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 7, 10 am - RYAN HIGGINS & GREG PIZZOLI
 This morning just keeps getting better. It’s now a double author-illustrator extravaganza!

Our childen's department has a soft spot for curmudgeonly bears. Have you met Bruce - arguably the most lovable grump in the children's world since Oscar the Grouch?  Mother Bruce was nominated for the NC Children's Choice Award for favorite picture book, received the E. B. White Read-Aloud Award and the Ezra Jack Keats New Illustrator Honor, so we know many kids have discovered him.  Bruce's adventures with 'his' goslings continued with Hotel Bruce.  Now the pack hits the road as Bruce seeks peace in Bruce's Big Move.  Ryan Higgins (left) shares Bruce's latest outing with us on Saturday, October 7, at 10 am.  No offense, Bruce, but we hope you're kept rattled for years to come.  Ages 4+, and bear cubs and goslings of all ages. 

Kids (and Greg Pizzoli) know how silly the classic Christmas carol is. Giggles are guaranteed in this slapstick version of The 12 Days of Christmas, from the award-winning creator of The Watermelon SeedSeed received the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award. Among his many books, Greg is also the author of Good Night Owl, a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor book. Ages 4+. 

Keep checking!  Authors are most often on tour in the spring and fall.

Once and for All Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780425290330
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - June 6th, 2017

From Sarah Dessen, the beloved New York Times bestselling author of SAINT ANYTHING and JUST LISTEN, comes a new novel set in the world of wedding planning


Refugee Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780545880831
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Press - July 25th, 2017

JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side of the world . . .
ISABEL is a Cuban girl in 1994. With riots and unrest plaguing her country, she and her family set out on a raft, hoping to find safety in America . . .


Lone Stars Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399172809
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Philomel Books - September 12th, 2017

An uplifting story about role models, football, and tackling fear set in the heart of Friday Night Lights country--from the bestselling author of Heat, Travel Team, and Fantasy League.


Rock Star #1 Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448487519
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Penguin Workshop - September 19th, 2017

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy engaging with science-loving Jada Jones in this easy-to-read chapter book.


Class ACT #2 Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780451534279
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Penguin Workshop - September 19th, 2017

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy rooting for Jada Jones as she runs for student council in this easy-to-read chapter book.


Genuine Fraud Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780385744775
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Delacorte Press - September 5th, 2017

From the author of the unforgettable New York Times bestseller We Were Liars comes a masterful new psychological suspense novel--the story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life. But how many times can someone reinvent themselves? You be the judge.


Bruce's Big Move Cover Image
By Ryan T. Higgins, Ryan T. Higgins (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368003544
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - September 26th, 2017

After the events of Hotel Bruce, our favorite curmudgeonly bear shares his home with not only his four geese, but three rowdy mice besides Fed up with their shenanigans, Bruce sets off to find a rodent-free household. But as usual, nothing goes quite according to plan. . .


The 12 Days of Christmas Cover Image
By Greg Pizzoli, Greg Pizzoli (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781484750315
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - September 12th, 2017

Elephant is delighted to get a gift, but as the twelve days of Christmas continue, presents pile higher and higher A partridge in a pear tree? Cute But soon, her dad despairs. Two turtle doves? THREE French hens? And just what are they supposed to do with ten lords a-leaping?


Find Us On Social Media