Richard Peck - 'The Best Man' (RESCHEDULED!)

Newbery Medalist and Honor recipient (A Year Down Yonder; A Long Way from Chicago) Richard Peck returns to us on Thursday, May 4, at 5 pm with The Best Man.  He tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent five years of grade school in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the architect; his dad, the vintage car customizer; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. But then comes change: middle school, puberty, his voice. Every day is filled with insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.  For ages 9+.

 

Event date: 
Thursday, May 4, 2017 - 5:00pm
Event address: 
North Hills
4209-100 Lassiter Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
The Best Man Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780803738393
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - September 20th, 2016

Can’t make it? To request a signed or personalized copy, call 828-1588 or 1-800-672-6789 or contact orders@quailridgebooks.com (at least 48 hours in advance for email) to check availability.


A Year Down Yonder Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780142300701
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - November 21st, 2002

A Newbery Medal Winner
Richard Peck's Newbery Medal-winning sequel to A Long Way from Chicago


A Long Way from Chicago: A Novel in Stories Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780141303529
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - October 9th, 2000

A Newbery Honor Book
A summer they'll never forget.


The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780142425305
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - September 11th, 2014

Set off on an amazing quest with this lovable orphaned mouse.


Secrets at Sea Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780142421833
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - October 11th, 2012

The adorable tale of a family of mice stowaways on an adventurous ship's journey


Find Us On Social Media