Kelly Starling Lyons & Vanessa Brantley-Newton - 'Jada Jones' Launch Party (Signing Line Ticket event)

North Carolina is full of talent, and two of its brightest lights in children's books are on hand today.  Kelly Starling Lyons (left) returns on Saturday, September 30, at 2 pm for the debut of her new series, Jada Jones.  Kelly inaugurates the series with the first two books: Jada Jones: Rock Star and Jada Jones: Class Act. Of course, there will be a launch party to celebrate. Jada is brought to life visually by renowned NC illustrator Vanessa Brantley-Newton (right), who also joins us. From the author of Ellen's Broom, Tea Cakes for Tosh, and more and the illustrator of Early Sunday Morning, One Love, and others, it's the start of an engaging new protagonist in chapter books for ages 6+. 

Join us for kids' activities, fun and refreshments at the launch of this series. May Jada have many adventures. 

Signing Line Ticket event: Receive a ticket for the after-program signing line with the QRB purchase of either Jada Jones book.  The earlier the book is purchased, the earlier the position in the signing line. 

Event date: 
Saturday, September 30, 2017 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
North Hills
4209-100 Lassiter Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
Rock Star #1 Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448487519
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Penguin Workshop - September 19th, 2017

Can’t make it? To request a signed or personalized copy, call 919-828-1588 or contact orders@quailridgebooks.com (at least 48 hours in advance for email) to check availability.


Class ACT #2 Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780451534279
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Penguin Workshop - September 19th, 2017

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy rooting for Jada Jones as she runs for student council in this easy-to-read chapter book.


Ellen's Broom Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399250033
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2012

A young girl learns a new meaning for freedom during the time of Reconstruction

Ellen always knew the broom resting above the hearth was special. Before it was legal for her mother and father to officially be married, the broom was what made them a family anyway. But now all former slaves who had already been married in their hearts could register as lawful husband and wife.


Tea Cakes for Tosh Cover Image
By Kelly Starling Lyons, E. B. Lewis (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399252136
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - December 6th, 2012

A young boy helps his beloved grandmother remember an important family story


Hope's Gift Cover Image
By Kelly Starling Lyons, Don Tate (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399160011
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Putnam Publishing Group - December 27th, 2012

A poignant story celebrating the 150th anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation

It's 1862 and the Civil War has turned out to be a long, deadly conflict. Hope's father can t stand the waiting a minute longer and decides to join the Union army to fight for freedom.


One More Dino on the Floor Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780807515983
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Albert Whitman & Company - March 2016

It's a hip-hopping, foot-stomping, hand-clapping, finger-snapping good time when the dinosaurs go out on the dance floor One by one (and all the way up to ten), the dinosaurs get their groove on in this delightful counting book With bright and colorful illustrations and fun, rhythmic text, young readers will be tapping their feet to the Jurassic beat.


Early Sunday Morning Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781572842113
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Agate Bolden - April 11th, 2017

Early Sunday Morning is the first offering from Denene Millner Books, the new children's line published under Agate's Bolden imprint in partnership with Denene Millner, the noted parenting authority, editor, and New York Times bestselling author.


One Love Cover Image
By Cedella Marley, Vanessa Brantley-Newton (Illustrator), Bob Marley (Created by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452102245
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books (CA) - September 21st, 2011

Adapted from one of Bob Marley's most beloved songs, One Love brings the joyful spirit and unforgettable lyrics of his music to life for a new generation. Readers will delight in dancing to the beat and feeling the positive groove of change when one girl enlists her community to help transform her neighborhood for the better.