The Bubble Wrap Boy (Kobo eBook)

The Bubble Wrap Boy Cover Image
$7.99
Available Now

Description


"Middle school readers will easily relate to the situational humor and school life, but everyone should read this book for its message. *The Bubble Wrap Boy *is perfect for fans of R.J. Palacio’s *Wonder *and will be an excellent addition to any library or classroom."-*VOYA*

   Charlie Han’s troubles are much bigger than he is. At school he’s branded an outsider, a loser—the tiny kid from the Chinese takeout. His only ally is Sinus Sedgely, a kid with a lower-level reputation than Charlie himself. Life at home isn’t much better. His dad is more skilled with a wok than he is with words, and his mom is suffocating the life out of Charlie, worried about his every move. But when a new passion leads Charlie to the mother of all confrontations, he finds his real mom has been hiding a massive secret. A secret that while shocking, might actually lead Charlie to feeling ten feet tall.
    The Bubble Wrap Boy is a funny and inspiring novel about friendship, family, and one undersized boy's ability to think BIG. 

"**Both laugh-out-loud funny and heartbreaking...In the fast-growing bullying genre, Charlie's story stands out.** This isn't a kid who will do anything to join the cool clique. This is a story about staying true to yourself and following your passion."-*Kirkus Reviews*

"**Earle excels at showing personal growth in the characters,** and it is gratifying to observe the believable evolution of Sinus’s and Charlie’s parents. VERDICT Family drama with a solid mix of action, adventure, and humor."-*SLJ   *

"**Charlie is a character to root for.** He is witty and perceptive and has a secret weapon in his best friend, Sinus Sedgely....[*The Bubble Wrap Boy* is] exciting to read."-*Booklist  *  

"Charlie's amusing sarcasm masks a vulnerability that will resonate with anyone who has felt like an outsider. The humiliation of being the butt of a joke is sensitively rendered, as is Charlie's slow reclamation of his pride in this witty, true-to-life story."-*Publishers Weekly  *

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9780553513172
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 13th, 2015
Language: