Villa America (Large Print / Hardcover)

Villa America Cover Image
$38.74
Special Order

Description


A dazzling and spellbinding novel about art, love and marriage--in the tradition of "The Paris Wife" and "Above All Things."
Sara and Gerald Murphy's good looks, talent for living and perfectly successful marriage breed both devotion and jealousy amongst their friends. But when Owen Chambers, an American aviator, arrives in their lives, the deep emotional fissures in Sara and Gerald's marriage reveal themselves and their lives change forever.
"Villa America" is a fictional imagining of the real lives of Americans Sara and Gerald Murphy who, in the heady years of 1920s France, presided over a group of expatriate writers, painters, singers and dancers--including Pablo Picasso and Cole Porter, Ernest Hemingway, John Dos Passos and F. Scott Fitzgerald. This dazzling cast of characters gathered together in the Murphy home in Cap d'Antibe, as both Sara and Gerald cast their elusive magic over all of them.
Spanning 1890s New York, the battlefields of WWI, the birth of aviation, the artistic explosion of 1920s France, the Depression and the rise of fascism, "Villa America "charts the beautiful and tragic course of three intertwined lives to create a vivid portrait of a gilded age that couldn't last.

About the Author


LIZA KLAUSSMANN is the author of "Tigers in Red Weather, " a "Sunday Times "Bestseller for which she won a British National Book Award, the Elle Grand Prix for Fiction and was named Amazon UK's Rising Star of the Year in 2012. A former journalist, Klaussmann was born in Brooklyn, New York, and spent ten years living in Paris. She currently lives in North London. "Villa America" is her second novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781410483416
ISBN-10: 141048341X
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Publication Date: October 28th, 2015
Language: English