The Whale: In Search of the Giants of the Sea (Compact Disc)

The Whale: In Search of the Giants of the Sea Cover Image
By Philip Hoare, Michael Page (Narrated by)
$39.99
Special Order

Description


The whale is the largest, loudest, oldest animal ever to have existed. It is improbable, amazing, and--as anyone who has seen an underwater documentary or visited the display at the American Museum of Natural History can attest--a powerful source of wonder and delight to millions. The Whale is an extraordinary journey into the world of this fascinating and mysterious animal. Acclaimed writer Philip Hoare visits the historic whale-hunting towns of New Bedford and Nantucket, wanders the streets of London and Liverpool in search of Melville's whaling inspiration, and swims with sperm whales in the middle of the Atlantic. Through the course of his journey he explores the troubled history of man and whale; traces the whale's cultural history from Jonah to Moby-Dick, Pinocchio to Free Willy; and seeks to discover why these strange and beautiful animals continue to exert such a powerful grip on our imagination. A blend of the travel and nature writing in the tradition of Jonathan Raban and John McPhee, The Whale is a gripping voyage into the heart of Hoare's obsession--and ours.

About the Author


Philip Hoare is the author of five works of nonfiction, including biographies of Noel Coward and Oscar Wilde; "England's Lost Eden: Adventures in a Victorian Utopia"; and "Spike Island: The Memory of a Military Hospital."

Michael Page has been recording audiobooks since 1984 and has over two hundred titles to his credit. He has won several "AudioFile" Earphones Awards, including for "The War That Killed Achilles" by Caroline Alexander and "The Lies of Locke Lamora" by Scott Lynch.

Praise For…


"[A] gracefully written exploration of why whales fascinate us." ---Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9781400115716
ISBN-10: 140011571X
Publisher: Tantor Media Inc
Publication Date: February 22nd, 2010
Language: English