The Dream Lover (Hardcover)

The Dream Lover Cover Image
$28.00
Special Order

Description


"NEW YORK TIMES"BESTSELLER NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY "USA TODAY "Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.
At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her family's estate in the French countryside to start a new life in Paris. There, she gives herself a new name George Sand and pursues her dream of becoming a writer, embracing an unconventional and even scandalous lifestyle.
Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand's many lovers and friends include Frederic Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugene Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, she works to reconcile the pain of her childhood, of disturbing relationships with her mother and daughter, and of her intimacies with women and men. Will the life she longs for always be just out of reach a dream?
Brilliantly written in luminous prose, and with remarkable insights into the heart and mind of a literary force, "The Dream Lover" tells the unforgettable story of a courageous, irresistible woman.
Praise for "The Dream Lover"
Exquisitely captivating . . . Sand's story is so timely and modern in an era when gender and sexual roles are upended daily. "USA Today"
Fantastic . . . a provocative and dazzling portrait . . . Berg tells a terrific story, while simultaneously exploring sexuality, art, and the difficult personal choices women artists in particular made then and now in order to succeed. . . . The book, imagistic and perfectly paced, full of dialogue that clips along, is a reader's dream. "The Boston Globe"
Absorbing . . . an armchair traveler's delight . . . Berg rolls out the wonders of nineteenth-century Paris in cinematic bursts that capture its light, its street life, its people and sounds. . . . The result is an illuminating portrait of a magnificent woman whose story is enriched by the delicate brush strokes of Berg's colorful imagination. "Chicago Tribune"
"
" There is authority and confidence in the storytelling that makes the pages fly. "The New York Times"
Berg weaves an enchanting novel about the real life of George Sand. "Us Weekly"
Lavishly described . . . Berg uses her own skill as a writer to graphically present the reader with a clear picture of a brilliant, yet flawed woman. Fredericksburg "Free Lance Star"
A] beautiful, imaginative re-creation . . . Berg's years-long immersion in the writings of and about Sand has resulted in a remarkable channeling of Sand's voice. "Library Journal "(starred review)
Berg offers vivid, sensual detail and a sensitive portrayal of the yearning and vulnerability behind Sand's bold persona. "Publishers Weekly"
A thoroughly pleasant escape . . . Sand is] intoxicating, beautiful, gifted, desirous, unconventional and heartbroken. "Kirkus Reviews.

About the Author


Elizabeth Berg is the author of many bestselling novels, including "Tapestry of Fortunes, The Last Time I Saw You, Home Safe, The Year of Pleasures, "and" Dream When You re Feeling Blue, "as well as two collections of short stories and two works of nonfiction. "Open House" was an Oprah s Book Club selection, "Durable Goods "and" Joy School" were selected as ALA Best Books of the Year, "Talk Before Sleep" was short-listed for an Abby Award, and "The Pull of the Moon" was adapted into a play. Berg has been honored by both the Boston Public Library and the Chicago Public Library. She is a popular speaker at venues around the country, and her work has been translated into twenty-seven languages. She is the founder of Writing Matters, a reading series designed to serve author, audience, and community. She divides her time between Chicago and San Francisco."

Praise For…


Advance praise for The Dream Lover
 
“In her masterly new novel, Elizabeth Berg inhabits the adventurous heart of George Sand, making sense of a puzzling legend who dared to live and write against the grain.”—Nancy Horan
 
The Dream Lover—what a bold, insightful, and enticing novel. And how vigorously Elizabeth Berg brings us the iconoclastic life of George Sand. Berg writes with such intimacy and compassion that I think she must have some shared ancestral DNA with Sand. I savored every page.”—Frances Mayes
 
“What a rich, heartbreaking, triumphant novel Elizabeth Berg has written! I recommend reading it with a highlighter in hand to mark the insights about love and life and being a woman that are on every page so you can reread and savor them.”—Ann Hood
 
The Dream Lover is a historical novel at once expansively researched yet intimately imagined. George Sand may be the ultimate Berg heroine. ‘A life not lived in truth,’ Berg writes, ‘is a life forfeited.’ In this latest work, Elizabeth Berg has poured her own great gifts and her own great heart into the story of a woman determined to refuse any such forfeiture, no matter the cost.”—Leah Hager Cohen
 
The Dream Lover is the dream match of writer to subject, Elizabeth Berg animating George Sand so vividly that you feel the Frenchwoman speaking directly to you. Infamous for her eccentricities and her passions, Sand is shown to be a touching figure, a woman needing to love and be loved.”—Robin Black

Product Details
ISBN: 9780812993158
ISBN-10: 0812993152
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: April 14th, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English