These Shallow Graves (Prebound)

These Shallow Graves Cover Image
$22.10
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


STAR] Action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery . . . and] the injustices Donnelly highlights remain all too relevant. "Publishers Weekly, " Starred
From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed "New York Times" bestselling author of "A Northern Light" and "Revolution, " comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, "These Shallow Graves" is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.
Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon like all the girls in her class she ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer a newspaper reporter.
Wild aspirations aside, Jo's life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. The story is that Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his revolver, but the more Jo hears about her father's death, the more something feels wrong. And then she meets Eddie a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father's newspaper and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.
The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.
Praise for "These Shallow Graves"
"L"ovely prose, historical intrigue, unique characters and setting. I devoured this book Ruta Sepetys, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Between Shades of Gray" and "Out of the Easy"
A splendidly hair-raising tour of the brightest and darkest corners of Victorian New York. Elizabeth Wein, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Code Name Verity" and "Black Dove, White Raven"
A fast-paced Gilded Age crime thriller. Julie Berry, award-winning author of "All the Truth That's In Me.

About the Author


Jennifer Donnelly is the author of three adult novels, "The Tea Rose," "The Winter Rose," and "The Wild Rose," as well as the young adult novels "These Shallow Graves," "Revolution," and "A Northern Light," winner of Britain's prestigious Carnegie Medal, the "L.A. Times" Book Prize for Young Adult Literature, and a Michael L. Printz Honor Book Award. She lives and writes full-time in upstate New York. You can visit her at jenniferdonnelly.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780606393416
ISBN-10: 0606393412
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Publication Date: October 25th, 2016
Pages: 512
Language: English