I'll Never Be Long Gone (Paperback)

$14.95
Special Order

Description


The lives of brothers Charlie and Owen Bender are changed forever on the night their father walks into the Vermont woods with a death wish and a shotgun. The second shock comes when his suicide note bequeaths the family's restaurant to Charlie alone, while leaving Owen with instructions to follow his own path, wherever it may take him.

Years later, the restaurant is a success. The void in Charlie's life, created by his beloved brother's absence, is finally filled when a passionate affair becomes a deeply satisfying marriage. And now prodigal son Owen is returning home, to be welcomed back into the family fold. But the cruel legacy that tore a brotherhood apart created wounds not easily healed . . . and there must be reckoning.

About the Author


Thomas Christopher Greene was born and raised in Worcester, Massachusetts. Educated at Hobart College and the MFA in Writing program at Vermont College, he is the author of Mirror Lake and I'll Never Be Long Gone. He currently lives outside Montpelier, Vermont, with his wife, Tia, their infant daughter, and their three dogs.

Praise For…


“Greene makes us see these things so clearly that they seem like sensual daydreams right there on the page.”
-Arizona Republic

“Written gracefully and with great sensitivity... in the tradition of Kent Haruf’s Eventide and Mark Spragg’s An Unfinished Life.”
-Howard Frank Mosher, author of Disappearances and Waiting For Teddy Williams

“Well-crafted... Greene is a reasonably engaging storyteller... intimate, minimalist scenes capture the flavor of smalltown life.
-Publishers Weekly, Praise for Mirror Lake

“A story of love, betrayal, and violence that kept me turning the pages to the end.”
-Susan Cheever, Praise for Mirror Lake

“A bright new voice in American Literature.”
-Brett Lott, Praise for Mirror Lake

“Greene’s novel unfolds... with words filled with beauty and strength.”
-Tampa Tribune, Praise for Mirror Lake

Product Details
ISBN: 9780060765811
ISBN-10: 006076581X
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: October 24th, 2006
Pages: 288
Language: English